The UK Theatre Awards are changing

November 01, 2018

The UK Theatre Awards are changing. In 2019 they’ll become even more relevant to today’s industry, with new categories and a new way for UK Theatre members to get involved. 

For 27 years the UK Theatre Awards have been the only nationwide awards to celebrate the outstanding achievements of theatre across the UK, and the contributions UK Theatre members make to the industry and their communities.

Over the last year they've listened to what UK Theatre members and the industry want from the UK Theatre Awards and now, as the industry evolves, so do the Awards celebrating its achievements.  

New awards categories reflect the contemporary priorities of the UK theatre industry, on stage and off stage, including:

  •           Workforce Development
  •            Excellence in Inclusivity
  •            Digital Innovation
  •            Excellence in Arts Education
  •            Excellence in Touring
  •            Best Play Revival


For a full list of award categories click here.

new nominations process will give UK Theatre members a voice in what and who wins in each category. The UK Theatre Off Stage Awards are application based and the process is now even easier.

UK Theatre Members are now encouraged to apply to become the UK’s Most Welcoming Theatre through a new process.

To read more about the changes, read the UK Theatre Awards Information Pack.

For regular updates and other information please sign-up to receive our newsletter